Space, The Final Frontier…

Or should that be barrier? To work, that is.

Today I went to my friend’s house, as I do every Wednesday, specifically to write. It is an arrangement that usually works really well. She works from home and is very diligent so we sit side by side on our computers, ignoring each other (except at 11am when we stop for cake, I like 11am!) and I have no distracting house-work so I usually write. Not today though. Today I have found a new and very dangerous form of distraction. Space!

I have always been fascinated by space, I blame my Dad who kept me up, aged 18 months, to see the moon landings then encouraged me as I spent freezing nights laying on lawn chairs looking up, counting shooting stars and learning to identify planets, constellations and galaxies. I’ve even done an Open University course on planets, for fun.

Last night I watched Stargazing live, for the science honest, not that nice Dr Cox, honest-hehe I’ve just realised he has the same name as Perry from Scrubs-that’s cool because they are so alike. Anyway last night they told the country about a website called Planet Four where you can go and help identify features on the Martian surface.

This is where my inner Geek comes into her own, about 10 years ago I was involved with a public project NASA did identifying craters on Mars, it involved looking at photos no-one else had seen and making four clicks around the edge of any craters you found. It wasn’t hard but it was strangely addictive and satisfying and I whiled away many hours. So this morning, when I should have been writing, I logged onto Planet Four, took the tutorial and spent the next hour identifying fans and splodges on the surface of a rusty, dusty planet I will never visit. It was brilliant! Have a look here http://planetfour.org/ if you want to see what I mean. It gets worse though, Planet Four not only needs help looking at the surface of Mars they have lots of other projects you can get involved with too-all from the comfort of your laptop. I may never write again, which some may say is a good thing!

All this time I thought it was Facebook that was writing’s biggest enemy when really I should have been looking out for that sneaky duo, Dara and Brian!

2 thoughts on “Space, The Final Frontier…

Leave a Reply

